‘The Power of the Dog’ leads the winners from the KCFCC

Members of the Kansas City Film Critics Circle met virtually to vote on Sunday January 16th for the 56th Annual James Loutzenhiser Awards and “The Power of the Dog” led by Benedict Cumberbatch and director Jane Campion led the pack of winners.

Adapted to screen from the novel by Thomas Savage, “The Power of the Dog” took home three of the top awards from the KCFCC, including Best Film, the Robert Altman Award for Best Director (Jane Campion), and Best Actor (Benedict Cumberbatch).

“The Power of the Dog” was the only film to win multiple awards from the Kansas City Film Critics.

Below is a complete list of the winners of the 56th Annual James Loutzenhiser Awards: 

BEST FILM: “The Power of the Dog”(Runner-up: “West Side Story”) 

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD FOR BEST DIRECTOR: Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog”(Runner-up: Steven Spielberg, “West Side Story”) 

BEST ACTOR: Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Power of the Dog”(Runner-up: Andrew Garfield, “Tick, Tick…BOOM!”) 

BEST ACTRESS: Olivia Colman, “The Lost Daughter”(Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, “Spencer”) 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Ciaran Hinds, “Belfast”(Runner-up: Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog”) 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Ann Dowd, “Mass”(Runner-up: Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story”) 

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: “Licorice Pizza”(Runner-up: “The French Dispatch”) 

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: “West Side Story”(Runner-up: “Drive My Car”) 

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: “The Tragedy of MacBeth”(Runner-up: “Dune”) 

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE: “The Mitchells vs the Machines”(Runner-up: “Flee”) 

BEST FOREIGN FILM: “Drive My Car” – Japan(Runner-ups: “The Worst Person in the World” – Norway) 

BEST DOCUMENTARY: “Summer of Soul”(Runner-up: “Procession”) 


TOM POE AWARD FOR THE BEST LGBT FILM: “Flee”(Runner-up: “The Power of the Dog”)